LIMNIA GI - The medicinal earth of Lemnos


From antiquity up to the 20th century the medicinal earth of Lemnos was regarded to be an efficient remedy.

Medicinal properties:
  • Anti-poison
  • Cures bites and stings of poisonous animals
  • Against dysentery
  • Cures malignant ulcers
  • Wound healing
  • Remedy against eye complaint
  • Affections of the spleen and kidneys
  • Antifebrile and hemostatic
  • Useful remedy against plague
  • Aphrodisiac

Beginnings
It is difficult to determine how far back in history the use of the Lemnian Earth goes. The first mention of the Lemnian Earth comes from Theophrastus (371 - 287 BC). In his work on Stones (De lapidibus 52) he mentions the Lemnian Earth as being a source of reddle (Miltos), but he doesn't say anything about its use for medicinal purposes.
The earliest references to the use of Lemnian Earth as medicinal earth date from about 70 AD. The sources are the physician Pedanius Dioscorides and the scholar Pliny the Elder. Pliny notes that Lemnian Earth was greatly celebrated in antiquity. This might be a hint that the Lemnian Earth was used as medicinal earth long before the age Pliny lived.
The philosopher Flavius Philostratus who was born in Lemnos gives us the story that the Greek warrior Philoktetes, who took part in the Trojan War, had been healed by the Lemnian Earth. But this is part of Greek mythology.
The extinct volcano Mosychlos, onto which the Greek god Hephaistos is said to have fallen, and where the famous Lemnian Earth was produced. View from the volcano Mosychlos to the site of the Lemnian Earth (center of the picture). In the background there is the village Kotsinas and the Purnia bay.
Pedanius Dioscorides - about 70 AD.
The first one who described the Limnia Gi as medicinal earth was the Greek physician Pedanius Dioscorides. He was a surgeon with the army of the Roman emperors Claudius und Nero, and he wrote an own chapter concerning the Lemnian Earth (De lemnia terra) in his encyclopedia about medicine (De materia medica 5, 113).
He gives us following information:
"The Lemnian Earth comes from a cave-like hollow on the island Lemnos. It is dug out there and mixed with goat's blood, the people form it to pills and seal those with a seal with a goat on it, called 'goat’s seal' because of this practice. It is very useful against deadly poisons. Taken mixed in wine it forces to vomit the poisons. It is a good remedy against bites and stings of poisonous animals. Some use it for cleansing rituals and it is very useful against dysentery."

Pedanius Dioscorides is regarded to be the most famous pharmacologist of antiquity, so it is to assume that his information was well-founded. In fact, the site where the earth was dug out - according to Dioscorides a cave-like hollow - seems to have been preserved in a very similar state (see the right picture below).
The hill where the legendary Lemnian Earth was dug out. The cave-like hollow where the priestess collected the earth in a ritual act.
Pliny the Elder - about 70 AD.
Pliny the Elder too knows much about the medicinal earth of Lemnos. Pliny wrote an encyclopedia about natural history (Naturalis Historia) which till modern times was much appreciated.
Pliny uses the term Lemnia rubrica (= Lemnian reddle) though he says that it is also called 'sealed' (Greek sphragis = seal). He tells us following about the Lemnian Earth (n.h. 35, 33f):
"In medicine it is very highly esteemed. Applied to the eyes in the form of a liniment, it allays defluxions and pains in those organs, and arrests the discharges from lachrymal fistulas. To persons vomiting blood, it is administered with vinegar to drink. It is taken also internally for affections of the spleen and kidneys; and by females for the purpose of arresting flooding. It is employed too, to counteract the effects of poisons, and of stings inflicted by sea or land serpents; hence it is that it is so commonly used as an ingredient in antidotes."
He also mentions that the Lemnian Earth is useful as an aphrodisiac if mixed with elephant’s trunk (n.h. 28, 87f).
The site where the earth was dug and the elutriation pool. The elutriation pool, in the background there is the cave-like hollow.
Galen - 2nd century AD.
The most extensive report on Lemnian Earth was written by the Greek physician Galen of Pergamon. He lived in the second century (129 – 200 or 216 AD.) and became such famous that he advanced to the personal doctor of the Roman emperors Commodus and Septimius Severus. His medicinal works were still highly estimated in the Middle Ages. He goes into detail about the Lemnian Earth in two books: 'De simplicium medicamentorum temperamentis ac facultatibus, IX (Kühn ed., XII, 169-70)' and 'De antidotis, I (Kühn ed., XIV, 80)'. He even visited Lemnos for the only purpose of seeing how the famous medicinal earth is produced.
According to Galen there are three varieties of Lemnian Earth. One is the sacred earth, which nobody touches but the priestess. A second kind is the real reddle (miltos), mainly used by builders. The third is that which removes dirt. The important medicinal earth was collected by a priestess in a special ceremony.
The text in English translation:
Water source for the elutriation of the Lemnian Earth. Fine, ochre-colored soil.
Flavius Philostratus - 2nd/3rd century AD.
The next source concerning the Lemnian Earth is the philosopher Flavius Philostratus (around 165 - 240) who was born in Lemnos. In his work 'Heroicus' one chapter is dedicated to the Greek warrior Philoktetes, who took part in the Trojan War.
He gives us following account (Philoktetes 28.5):
He (= Philoktetes) was healed immediately by the Lemnian soil, onto which Hephaistos is said to have fallen. It drives away diseases that cause madness and stanches bleeding, but the only snake bite it heals is that of the water snake.
Actually, Flavius Philostratus alludes to the old age of the use of Lemnian Earth by connecting it with the cure of Philoktetes.
Sea-side entrance to the so-called cave of Philoktetes northeast of Kotsinas. Inside the cave of Philoktetes.
Late Antiquity / Middle Ages
In the 7th century the physician Paul of Aegina (Paulus Aegineta) mentions the Lemnian Earth in his medicinal encyclopedia. He just says that the Lemnian Earth is much inferior to the earth of Sinope (P. Aegineta VII, s.v. Ge, terra). It makes it obvious that the significance of Lemnian Earth as medicinal remedy was definitely in decline. This is confirmed by the fact that in the very important 10th-century Byzantine encyclopedia, the Suda, the Lemnian Earth is not even mentioned.
Impressive remains of constructions on the promontory Ekato Kephalai northwest of Kotsinas. Enigmatic rock structures on Ekato Kephalai (translated: Hundred Heads).
Ottoman Empire
In the Ottoman Empire there took place a revival of the Lemnian Earth as treasured medicinal remedy. The Ottomans very much appreciated the Lemnian Earth regarding it as a very useful remedy against plague. It was by the emissaries of the famous Sultan Mehmed II, the conqueror of Constantinople, that the Lemnian Earth was rediscovered in 1480 after a long time of oblivion. Under the Ottomans the medicinal earth was called 'tin-i makhtum' (= sealed earth), actually very similar to its ancient name (= Sphragis). Its esteem as useful remedy against poison and plague lasted for the following five centuries which is proved by numerous travel reports from 1485 to 1889. The first ottoman report concerning the Lemnian Earth was written by the cartographer Piri Reis in 1521. He describes that the earth was dug out only on one special day in the year, on the seventh of August. According to him the people go before daybreak to that place, and as long as the day lasts they dig out the earth. His description of the elutriation process and of the making of the sealed pills is very similar to Galen's account. According to Piri Reis the Lemnian Earth brings fevers down and cures many maladies.
     
Seals of Limnia Gi in Arabic letters. Seal of Limnia Gi with the Latin inscription 'Terra Lemna' and the depiction of three stars and a crescent (17th/18th century).
Pierre Belon - 16th century AD.
The French traveler Pierre Belon gives us an extensive account of the exploitation of Lemnian Earth in the years from 1546 to 1549 (P. Belon, Les observations de plusieurs singularitez et choses memorables trouvées en Grèce, Asie, Judée, Egypte, Arabie et autres pays étrangèrs, 1553).
According to Belon the digging of the earth took place only once a year, on the sixth of August, at the festival of the Transfiguration. It was preceded by a religious service at the church of the Saviour, not far from the hill on which the earth was dug. The Turkish governor (Subashi) of the island and the Turkish and Greek notables took part in the ceremony. A proclamation was made and a sheep was sacrificed, which was afterwards eaten by the Turks present, as the Greeks fasted at this time of year (till 15th August). The digging began at or before sunrise and continued for six hours, after which the hole was closed and left till the next year. It was a penal offence to dig it out of season. The earth dug was cleansed and stamped with a seal bearing in Arabic letters the words 'tin i makhtum' (sealed earth). Certain officers were allowed to take a share of it, and the bystanders a small quantity each, but the bulk of the earth, including the whole of the first quality, was placed after sealing in a packet (also sealed) and sent to Constantinople by special messenger for the use of the sultan. A certain amount, presumably of inferior quality, was sold on the spot by the Subashi to merchants.
About the same time the Spanish physician Stefano Albacario was commissioned by the Austrian ambassador to go to Lemnos to investigate the earth. His account mainly corroborates Belon's. But Albacario's report also illustrates the religious aspect of the digging. So the earth was supposed to have virtue only on the day chosen for the official digging. Then a special washer had the handling of the earth up to the time of its exportation, and that this washer appropriated a small bag of the earth, which, however, was not sealed.
The opening of the cave-like hollow at close range. The elutriation pool from the right side, in the background there is the cave-like hollow.
John Covel - 17th century AD.
The traveler John Covel (J. Covel, Diaries, 1677, ed. Th. Bent, pp. 283 ff.) gives minute particulars of the washing of the earth. This was done at the fountain of the neighboring village (Hagia Hypati), which, merely to increase the miracle apparently, was supposed to have an underground connexion with the place of the digging. At this period it was accounted 'an infallible cure of all agues, taken at the beginning of the fit with water' and employed also for fluxes, to hasten childbirth, and as an antidote.
No vessel made of it would hold poison but immediately splintered into a thousand fragments. The latter superstition has survived for a long time and is recorded also by several writers before and after Covel.
Byzantine chapel in the immediate vicinity of the Limnia Gi site. View from the chapel to the bay in the North and the village Kotsinas. In Kotsinas there is a sanctuary on a hill at the seaside (in the center of the picture). Inside this there is a steep subterranean staircase which leads deep into the hill to a fountain and cult place.
Louis de Launay - End of the 19th century.
The French geologist Louis de Launay (L. de Launay, Notes sur Lemnos, Rev. Archeologique Series 3 27, 1895, 318-23.) had chemically analyzed the earth in 1894 and he came to the conclusion that this earth absolutely had no medicinal properties. But he did not exclude that once there had existed an earth vein which medicinal properties which had been mined out completely.

 Giresun Adasi Project 2017 

B o o k s
Gerhard Pöllauer, Geheimnisvolles Lemnos. Die von Frauen beherrschte Insel
(Mysterious Lemnos. Island dominated by women)
ISBN: 978-3-902096-77-7; Paperback, 128 pages, 97 black-and-white pictures, 3 color photos, 1 map
Price: EUR 13.00

The rather unknown North Aegean island Lemnos amazes with its great prehistoric past. About 5000 years ago there existed a highly-developed civilization which created imposing cities, mighty rock buildings and impressive sanctuaries on this Greek island. The discovery of Poliochni was sensational. Because of its largeness and refinement this Bronze Age settlement is regarded as the most ancient city of Europe. Also the discoveries at Myrina in the west and Hephaistia in the north witness the island's prehistoric importance. Presumably there was a further city in the Northeast - Chryse, which was sunken under the sea.
Moreover, the findings make evident that in this ancient civilization there was gender equality, it even seems that the women had the predominating gender role. Not without reason in antiquity Lemnos was described with the words »island dominated by women«.
=> Table of contents
At present, this book is only available in German.

Gerhard Pöllauer: The Lost History of the Amazons
Recent research findings on the legendary women nation
ISBN: 978-1-4461-9305-1; Paperback, 148 pages, 87 black-and-white pictures, 3 illustrations
Price: $17.48

This book focuses on the numerous traces of the Amazons. It reports on latest findings and investigation in the legendary homeland of the Amazons at the river Thermodon and on the Amazon island Lemnos.
Fresh evidence indicates that the Amazons really existed! According to these new discoveries the lost history of the Amazons can be reconstructed.

Updated: December 13, 2017
Diese Seite gibt es auch auf deutsch.


SITEMAP
Sitemap
Amazon Research Center

Pictures/Books   ***   Your Opinion

Copyright © 2000-2017 by Amazon Research Network

SITEMAP
Sitemap

LIMNIA GI - Die medizinische Erde von Lemnos


Von der Antike bis ins 20. Jahrhundert galt die medizinische Erde von Lemnos als wirkungsvolles Heilmittel.

Wirkungsbereiche:
  • Gegen tödliche Gifte
  • Gegen Bisse und Stiche giftiger Tiere
  • Dysenterie (Ruhr)
  • Zur Behandlung von Geschwüren
  • Wundheilung
  • Bei Augenleiden
  • Milz- und Nierenbeschwerden
  • Fiebersenkend und blutstillend
  • Wirksames Mittel gegen die Pest
  • Aphrodisiakum

Anfänge
Wie weit in die Geschichte die Verwendung der Lemnischen Erde als Heilerde zurückgeht, ist schwer zu eruieren. Die früheste Erwähnung der Lemnischen Erde stammt von Theophrast (371 - 287 vor Chr.). In seinem Werk über Steine (De lapidibus 52) zitiert er die Lemnische Erde in ihrer Form als Rötel (Miltos), spricht jedoch nicht von einer medizinischen Verwendung.
Die frühesten Erwähnungen als dezidiert medizinische Heilerde stammen von Pedanios Dioskurides und Plinius Maior aus der Zeit um 70 nach Chr. Bei Plinius Maior findet sich auch der Hinweis, dass die Heilerde schon bei den Alten in hohen Ehren stand. Dies lässt den Schluss zu, dass die Lemnische Heilerde schon lange Zeit vor Plinius zu medizinischen Zwecken angewendet worden war.
Der aus Lemnos stammende Philosoph Flavius Philostratos berichtet, dass schon Philoktet, Teilnehmer am Feldzug nach Troja, auf Lemnos durch die Lemnische Erde geheilt worden war, doch ist dies Teil der griechischen Mythologie.
Der erloschene Vulkan Mosychlos, wo der Legende nach Hephaistos hinabgefallen war, und wo die heilsame Lemnische Erde gefördert wurde. Blick vom Berghügel auf die Förderstätte der Lemnischen Erde (Bildmitte). Im Hintergrund sieht man Kotsinas und die Purnia Meeresbucht.
Pedanios Dioskurides - um 70 nach Chr.
Der erste, welcher von der Lemnischen Erde als medizinische Erde berichtete, war im 1. Jahrhundert nach Chr. der griechische Arzt Pedanios Dioskurides. Er war Militärarzt unter den römischen Kaisern Claudius und Nero und verfasste ein eigenes Kapitel über die Lemnische Erde (De lemnia terra) in seinem Werk über die Arzneimittellehre (De materia medica 5, 113).
Folgendes berichtet er:
"Die Lemnische Erde stammt von der Insel Lemnos aus einem bestimmten höhlenartigen Stollen. Man holt sie von dort und mischt sie mit Ziegenblut, und die Leute formen sie zu Pastillen, siegeln sie mit dem Bild einer Ziege, jene Ziegensiegel nennend. Sie ist ein hervorragendes Gegenmittel gegen tödliche Gifte. Mit Wein eingenommen zwingt sie dazu, die Gifte zu erbrechen. Sie ist ein gutes Mittel gegen Bisse und Stiche giftiger Tiere. Auch wird sie Gegenmitteln beigemischt. Einige benutzen sie für Reinigungsrituale, und sie ist auch gut gegen Dysenterie."

Pedanios Dioskurides gilt als der berühmteste Pharmakologe des Altertums, so darf man davon ausgehen, dass seine Informationen fundiert waren. Tatsächlich scheint sich die von ihm genannte Abbaustelle der Heilerde - ein höhlenartiger Stollen - bis in die heutige Zeit erhalten zu haben (siehe Bild unten rechts).

Der Felsenhügel, wo die legendäre Lemnische Erde ausgegraben wurde. Der Stollen, aus dem die Priesterin in einem rituellen Akt die medizinische Erde förderte.
Plinius der Ältere (auch Plinius Maior) - um 70 nach Chr.
Auch Plinius der Ältere - ebenfalls 1. Jahrhundert nach Chr. - weiß über die Lemnische Heilerde zu berichten. Plinius schuf eine naturwissenschaftliche Enzyklopädie (Naturalis Historia), welche bis in die Neuzeit hochgeschätzt war.
Er stellt zum einen fest (Plinius n.h. 35, 33f), dass Lemnos Ocker von bester Qualität besitzt. Dieses war von großem Wert und wurde ausschließlich in versiegelten Paketen verkauft, wodurch die Heilerde auch unter dem Namen 'Sphragis' (griechisch: Sphragis = Siegel) bekannt war. Er berichtet des Weiteren, dass die Lemnische Erde in der Medizin hoch angesehen war. So wurde sie bei Augenleiden als Einreibemittel verwendet. Personen, die Blut erbrechen, sollten die Erde gemeinsam mit Essig einnehmen. Weiters soll sie auch bei Problemen mit der Milz und Niere helfen, und Frauen hilft sie, die Monatsblutung zu stoppen. Sie kommt als Gegenmittel gegen Gifte zur Anwendung, und bei Bissen von See- und Landschlangen. Allgemein wird sie als Bestandteil von Gegengiften genutzt.
An anderer Stelle (Plinius n.h. 28, 87f) berichtet er, dass die Lemnische Erde zusammen mit Elefantenstoßzahn ein wirkungsvolles Aphrodisiakum sei.
Die Förderstelle mit dem vorgelagerten Brunnen für das Ausschlämmen der Erde (Bildmitte). Der Brunnen von der Nähe, im Hintergrund der Förderstollen.
Galen - 2. Jahrhundert nach Chr.
Den umfassendsten Bericht verdanken wir dem griechischen Arzt Galen (Galenos von Pergamon). Dieser lebte im 2. Jahrhundert nach Chr. und hatte unter seinen Zeitgenossen derartiges Ansehen, dass er zum Leibarzt des römischen Kaisers Commodus und vermutlich auch des späteren Kaisers Septimius Severus avancierte. Seine medizinischen Werke waren noch im Mittelalter von großer Bedeutung. Über die Lemnische Erde berichtete er in zwei Werken: 'De simplicium medicamentorum temperamentis ac facultatibus, IX (Kühn ed., XII, 169-70)' und 'De antidotis, I (Kühn ed., XIV, 80)'. Er besuchte Lemnos eigens, um sich vor Ort von der Herstellung der berühmten Heilerde ein Bild zu machen.
Nach Galen gilt es drei Erden zu unterscheiden: Die erste war die begehrte medizinische Erde, die zweite war rotes Ocker, welches von den Handwerkern genutzt wurde, und die dritte diente zur Reinigung von Gewändern. Die Gewinnung der wichtigen medizinischen Erde erfolgt durch eine Priesterin in einem rituellen Akt.
Der Originaltext in deutscher Übersetzung:
Wasserquelle für das Ausschlämmen der Lemnischen Erde. Feine, ockerfarbene Erde.
Flavius Philostratos - 2./3. Jahrhundert nach Chr.
Der aus Lemnos stammende Philosoph Flavius Philostratos (ca. 165 bis 240) berichtete ebenfalls von der heilsamen Erde seiner Heimat. Laut ihm (Heroikos 28) kuriert die Erde Krankheiten, die Wahnsinn auslösen, weiters stillt sie Blut. Als einzigen Schlangenbiss heilt sie jenen der Wasserschlange.
Flavius Philostratos weist auf das hohe Alter der Anwendung von Lemnischer Erde hin, indem er berichtet, dass Philoktet - Teilnehmer am Trojanischen Krieg - schon durch diese medizinische Erde geheilt wurde.
Der meerseitige Eingang in die sogenannte Höhle des Philoktet nordöstlich von Kotsinas. Im Inneren der Höhle des Philoktet.
Spätantike / Mittelalter
Im 7. Jahrhundert erwähnt der Arzt Paulus von Aigina die Lemnische Erde in seiner medizinischen Enzyklopädie. Er weist aber darauf hin, dass die Erde von Sinope stärker wirke (P. Aegineta VII, s.v. Ge, terra). Es scheint in dieser Zeit zu einem Niedergang der Bedeutung der Lemnischen Erde gekommen zu sein. Das zeigt sich auch dadurch, dass im umfangreichsten byzantinischen Lexikon (die Suda, 10 Jh.) die Lemnische Erde nicht mehr erwähnt wird.
Eindrucksvolle Überreste von Bauten auf der Halbinsel Ekato Kephalai nordwestlich von Kotsinas. Rätselhafte Felsstrukturen auf Ekato Kephalai (übersetzt: Hundert Köpfe).
Zeit der Türkenherrschaft
Zu einer wahrlichen Renaissance der Lemnischen Erde als Heilmittel kam es zur Zeit der Türkenherrschaft. Von den Türken wurde die Lemnische Erde außerordentlich geschätzt, da sie als bewährtes Mittel gegen die Pest betrachtet wurde. Unter dem berühmten Sultan Mehmed II, dem Eroberer von Konstantinopel, wurde die Lemnische Erde im Jahr 1480 wiederentdeckt, nachdem sie lange Zeit vergessen schien. Unter den Osmanen trug die medizinische Erde den Namen 'tin-i makhtum' (= gesiegelte Erde). Die Hochschätzung der Lemnischen Erde als Heilmittel hielt sich die folgenden fünf Jahrhunderte, wie Reiseberichte von 1485 bis 1889, welche die Lemnische Erde thematisieren, hinreichend belegen. Der erste osmanische Bericht über die Lemnische Erde stammt vom Kartographen Piri Reis aus dem Jahr 1521. Er beschreibt, dass nur an einem speziellen Tag, nämlich am 7. August, die Erde gewonnen wird. Schon vor Tagesanbruch kommt die Bevölkerung zu diesem Platz und fördert den ganzen Tag diese Erde. Seine Beschreibung der Herstellung der gesiegelten Pillen entspricht in etwa jener des Galen. Laut Piri Reis wirkt die Erde fiebersenkend und heilt viele Krankheiten.
     
Siegel der Limnia Gi in arabischer Schrift. Siegel der Limnia Gi mit der lateinischen Aufschrift 'Terra Lemna' und mit der Darstellung von drei Sternen und einem Halbmond (17./18. Jahrhundert nach Chr.).
Pierre Belon - 16. Jahrhundert nach Chr.
Einen ausführlichen Bericht über die Lemnische Erde überlieferte der Franzose Pierre Belon aus den Jahren 1546 bis 1549 (P. Belon, Les observations de plusieurs singularitez et choses memorables trouvées en Grèce, Asie, Judée, Egypte, Arabie et autres pays étrangèrs, 1553).
Belon zufolge fand die Grabung nur einmal im Jahr statt, und zwar an einem ganz bestimmten Tag, am Fest Christi Verklärung, das ist am 6. August. Zuvor wurde eine Messe in der Heilandskirche (Sotira) nahe der Grabungsstätte gefeiert. Der türkische Gouverneur der Insel (Subashi) und die türkische und griechische Prominenz nahmen an der Zeremonie teil. Eine Verkündigung wurde gesprochen, danach ein Schaf geopfert, welches dann von den anwesenden Türken verspeist worden war, da die Griechen zu dieser Zeit fasteten (bis 15. August). Das Graben begann bei Sonnenaufgang und dauerte 6 Stunden, danach wurde das Loch wieder geschlossen und bis zum nächsten Jahr unberührt gelassen. Es war ein Strafverbrechen außerhalb dieser Zeit diese Erde zu fördern. Die Erde wurde geschlämmt und gestempelt, das Siegel trug die arabischen Buchstaben des Wortes 'tin i makhtum' (= gesiegelte Erde). Einigen Beamten war es gestattet einen Teil davon zu nehmen, und die Anwesenden durften jeweils eine kleine Menge nehmen, doch die Masse der Erde, inklusive jene von erster Qualität, war nach dem Versiegeln in ein Paket gepackt worden (ebenfalls versiegelt) und durch spezielle Boten zum Sultan nach Konstantinopel geschickt worden. Eine gewisse Menge, vornehmlich schlechterer Qualität, wurde an Ort und Stelle vom Subashi an Händler verkauft.
Etwa um die gleiche Zeit war der spanische Arzt Stefano Albacario im Auftrag des österreichischen Botschafters nach Lemnos gekommen. Er bestätigte im Wesentlichen den Bericht Belons, nur weist er auch auf die religiösen Aspekte hin. So hätte die Erde nur ihre Heilwirkung, wenn sie an diesem speziellen Tag gegraben wird. Auch bearbeitete nur ein ganz spezieller Wäscher die Erde bis zu seiner Ausfuhr.
Die Öffnung des Stollens von der Nähe. Der Brunnen für das Ausschlämmen der Erde von der rechten Seite, im Hintergrund der Stolleneingang.
John Covel - 17. Jahrhundert nach Chr.
Der Reisende John Covel (J. Covel, Diaries, 1677, ed. Th. Bent, pp. 283 ff.) gibt genaue Details über das Waschen der Erde. Dies geschah an der Quelle des Nachbardorfs Hagia Hypati. Die Dorfbewohner behaupteten - wohl um das Wunder größer erscheinen zu lassen, dass die Wasserquelle unterirdisch mit dem Grabungsort verbunden sei. Zu dieser Zeit galt die Erde als unfehlbares Heilmittel gegen alle Arten von Fieber, wenn sie zu Beginn des Ausbruchs mit Wasser eingenommen wird. Sie hilft auch bei Dysenterie, beim Beschleunigen der Kindsgeburt und als Gegengift.
Kein aus dieser Erde gemachtes Gefäß würde Gift behalten, sondern das Gefäß würde sofort in Stücke zersplittern. Dieser letzte Aberglaube wurde von mehreren Schriftstellern berichtet.
Byzantinische Kapelle in unmittelbarer Nähe der Förderstätte der Lemnischen Erde. Blick von der Kapelle zur Meeresbucht im Norden und nach Kotsinas. In Kotsinas befindet sich auf einer Anhöhe ein Heiligtum (in der Bildmitte). In diesem führt ein steiler, unterirdischer Gang tief in das Hügelinnere zu einer Quelle und Kultstätte.
Louis de Launay - Ende des 19. Jahrhundert nach Chr.
Der Geologe Louis de Launay (L. de Launay, Notes sur Lemnos, Rev. Archeologique Series 3 27, 1895, 318-23.) hatte die Erde im Jahr 1894 auf seine Zusammensetzung analysiert und kommt zum Schluss, dass diese Erde absolut sicher über keine medizinische Eigenschaft verfüge. Doch schließt er nicht aus, dass es hier einst eine Erdader gegeben hatte, die von medizinischem Nutzen war. Er vermutet, dass, als diese erschöpft war, man um des lukrativen Geschäftes willen trotzdem fortsetzte, Erde zu fördern und zu verkaufen.

 Giresun Adasi Projekt 2017 

Literatur
Gerhard Pöllauer, Geheimnisvolles Lemnos. Die von Frauen beherrschte Insel
ISBN: 978-3-902096-77-7; Paperback, 128 Seiten, 97 Schwarzweiß-Abbildungen, 3 Abbildungen in Farbe, 1 Karte
Preis: EUR 13,00

Die in der Nordägäis gelegene, relativ unbekannte griechische Insel Lemnos hat eine großartige vorgeschichtliche Vergangenheit vorzuweisen. Vor 5000 Jahren entwickelte sich hier eine bedeutende Hochkultur mit eindrucksvollen Stadtanlagen, mächtigen Felsbauten und Ehrfurcht einflößenden Heiligtümern. Die Entdeckung der frühbronzezeitlichen Fundstätte von Poliochni gilt als sensationell. Diese Siedlung wird aufgrund ihrer Ausmaße und ihrer Entwicklungsreife als die älteste Stadt Europas bezeichnet. Auch Myrina im Westen und Hephaistia im Norden beeindrucken mit ihrer erstaunlichen prähistorischen Hinterlassenschaft. Vermutlich hatte noch eine vierte städtische Siedlung ganz im Nordosten der Insel existiert - das sagenhafte Chryse, welches durch ein Erdbeben im Meer versunken war.
Gleichzeitig ist festzustellen, dass in dieser Kultur Frauen eine zumindest gleichberechtigte Rolle innehatten. Nicht ohne Grund wurde Lemnos in der Antike mit den Worten »die von Frauen beherrschte Insel« charakterisiert.
=> Inhaltsverzeichnis

Gerhard Pöllauer, Die verlorene Geschichte der Amazonen
Neueste Forschungserkenntnisse über das sagenumwobene Frauenvolk
ISBN: 978-3-902096-88-3; Paperback, 148 Seiten, 87 Schwarzweiß-Abbildungen, 3 Skizzen
Preis: EUR 13,00

Dieses Buch begibt sich auf die Spuren der sagenumwobenen Amazonen. Es beleuchtet die berühmte Amazonensage in all ihren Facetten, begibt sich auf eine archäologische Spurensuche und liefert neueste Forschungserkenntnisse aus der legendären Heimat der Amazonen am Fluss Thermodon und von der einst von Amazonen bewohnten Insel Lemnos. Eingehende Untersuchungen der antiken Amazonensagen in Kombination mit neuesten Entdeckungen vor Ort entschlüsseln den geheimnisvollen Mythos über das berühmte Frauenvolk. Zahlreiche Abbildungen dokumentieren die Forschungsergebnisse.
Diese neuesten - unvoreingenommenen - Forschungen bringen das eingefahrene Geschichtsbild ins Wanken. Zahlreiche archäologische und historische Spuren deuten darauf hin, dass die Amazonen wirklich existierten hatten! Auf Basis dieser neuesten Erkenntnisse kann die verloren gegangene Geschichte der Amazonen rekonstruiert werden.
=> Inhaltsverzeichnis   => Leseprobe    => Rezension

==> This book is also available in English!   Amazon.com

Aktualisiert: 24. April 2017
This site is also available in English.


INHALT
Inhalt
Amazonenforschung

Bilder/Bücher   ***   Ihre Meinung

Copyright © 1997-2017 Amazon Research Network
INHALT
Inhalt